top of page

DESIGN!

Let me settle these debates before we begin, someone at the helm of a Kingship is a King, right? Second, if you’ve never heard about Oeba or Oeba’s, then you need to get schooled. Willie Oeba is very passionate about spoken word making it very difficult to know him outside poetry. I caught up with the Oeba who has just completed university yet to graduate in December and trust me that eagle is already soaring. The poet who also doubles up as a radio presenter has earned so much respect in the industry: not only in Kenya but also outside the borders. Talking to him has been exciting and in a way, broadened my thinking. Here is what he had to say.


How long have you been doing Spoken word?

Well, that was a process for me. Started doing and performing poems while in primary through high school. In high school, I started writing and performing poems during drama festivals in a class of its own. After clearing high school is when I realised that people wanted to hear the same thing, and that’s when I got to spoken word poetry.

How did you know about spoken word?

Back in primary, I only knew about poems. I also admired what Juliani was doing, and I kept wondering what kind of genre he was doing, I found it fascinating. After clearing high school, I came across poets like Teardrops, and I knew then that was spoken word.

How would you describe your style?

I am an expressionist. I talk about life experiences, and people call it poetry.

What inspires your writing?

Real-life experiences influence my writings, what I have gone through and also other people’s experiences through my eyes.

Who inspires you?

My mom. And I tell her that.

Who inspires your style of writing?

Juliani inspires me most

East Africa Spoken Word Kingship Battle. Tell me about it.

It went down in April last year in Kisumu. It featured 13 poets from the East African nations, and I won the battle. The day before I had opted out, I was sick at that time. But here we are.

What other awards do you have?

I am the Blaze Music Award winner 2017.





"I am insecure about my trousers."







Where do you see yourself in 10 or 5 years?

I don’t wish to change the world; I want to inspire the minds that will change the world. I would want to transition the spoken word scene transform to a fully-fledged industry so that poets who will come after me would not have to hustle as I did. In 5 years, I would want to have my o recording label, Oebaism that would sign spoken word artists. I also would want to have my own TV show that would feature spoken word artists. What is Oebaism all about?

It is a spoken word movement that seeks to bring spoken word poetry, artists, poets and also the lovers of words together. It aims to transition the spoken word scene to an industry. There’s also an annual event every 12th of December that features spoken word artists.

Do you think spoken word in Kenya is appreciated in Kenya now?

So far, so good. We have events that have moved spoken word from the secret society that was before to being put in the sphere. Artists like King Kaka have events that mainly seek to recognise poets in the industry. I was privileged to be part of the four poets that would work with him. Events like Churchill show and Cake Art Affair really pushes spoken word to the mainstream. So it’s up to the spoken word artists to get out of their comfort zones to infiltrate the spaces created.

Tell us about your first performance.

I attended my first show as an artist was more of an ambush (laughs). Gufy, an mc also a poet was like “Oeba come perform”. I went and performed the high school poems. I performed in before big names in poetry like Jicho Pevu. People didn’t really get what I was saying, but I think I did ok.








"I want to inspire the minds that will change the world."





What has been your biggest performance?

I believe that my biggest show is the next and my best piece in the one I’m writing now. I have a lot of awesome experiences, but King Kaka Maneno would stand out for me right now. We had the whos and whos in the building. Blaze was also big, I performed to about 12,000 people and being mentored by King Kaka, Nyashinski, J-Blessing, and so many more. Slam Africa in Alliance Français in 2014 was also big for which I was 2nd runners up. East Africa spoken word competition was also significant. Performing in KASNEB in 2014 was very big for me too.

What do you do to prepare for a show?

I get a lot of stage fright. I believe if you’re not tensed, then you do not care about the tour audience. I’m not always very prepared, but the stage chemistry really works its magic. Spoken word is for the moment, and on the stage, something just happens. But I believe in myself and practice beats talent, and most importantly, I pray.

Have you ever forgotten a line on stage?

Yes, I have, many times. Once in high school, I had three pieces, and I forgot how to start all of them. So I started storytelling, and somehow things fell to place. Now, I’m used to being on stage, and I create lines along the way.

You say the truths as it is in your pieces, have you ever brushed shoulders with anyone?

I have performed before being names before, even the president and the CSs, I was tempted to sieve my content. But I stand for social justice as a poet and poetry is my platform, so I say the truth no matter how hard.





"My biggest show is the next and my best piece in the one I’m writing now."







What your guilty pleasure?

(Laughs) Eating sugar

What are you insecure about?

My trousers. They have tiny pockets, so I never put money in them.

If your house was on fire, what would you grab first?

My coffee. Graduation is on his bucket list.

What’s you go to pick up line?

Wewe ni mfine kama how are you.

If you were to write a book about your life, what would be the title?

Crowned by life experiences.

What makes you angry?

Hunger. Insult to my intelligence.

What would you tell artists reading this?

To artists, you don’t have to come up with new pieces every day so that people would take you seriously. Invest in your pieces and master them. Also, be consistent with your writing.

Well, that was all the time I had with the King of poetry. You can catch him on Hero Radio in the morning for the morning show, Morning Rush, from Monday to Friday. Get to watch his videos on his YouTube channel- Oebaism. Oebaism for Facebook and @willioeba both on twitter and Instagram.

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Komentáře


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page